Weird Warning lights. HELP! [Archive] - DSM Forums: Mitsubishi Eclipse, Plymouth Laser, and Eagle Talon Forum: DSMtalk.com

: Weird Warning lights. HELP!

Litlslggr
11-08-2010, 09:40 AM
Alright, so I am brand new to DSM's. I have had this Talon for about two weeks now. When I bought it, nothing seemed to be wrong with it. I checked over everything and only found a leaky thermostat gasket. A few days later, my battery, overheat, and brake light came on and stayed on. I searched all over the forums and checked for answers. The next day i was driving to get a new alternator when all my lights went up and blew my interior lights and my ecu. The voltage regulator was out. I bought a new battery, alternator, belts, and ecu. Everything was great. But out of nowhere when I started her up cold one night I noticed the lights were fluctuating and those three lights were on. After that the lights come on and off randomly and it idles at 2500-3000 every once in a while. I checked the IAC and it seemed to be working fine. But could it be that it works sometimes and doesnt work next? I am stuck! Any ideas would be appreciated. Also my friend has a Modis, and with the old ECU and new ECU the modis continued to tell us that the MIL was on when it wasn't.
Thanks

Red1991TSI
11-08-2010, 10:10 AM
Check your fusible link. It's the 100 amp fuse at the corner of the fuse box in the engine bay. It uses 2 10mm bolts to hold it in. If that is blown, the alt won't charge the battery.

Litlslggr
11-08-2010, 10:32 AM
Alright, I just pulled that out and it seems to be fine. I hooked up my Voltmeter the the B+ terminal on the alternator and the ground. It read in the 14s which means the alternator is putting out. But I found a wire hanging out the alternator connector. Its yellow with a red stripe. I have searched All Data and my manual and I can't find what it is.

Red1991TSI
11-08-2010, 11:00 AM