Ecu [Archive] - DSM Forums: Mitsubishi Eclipse, Plymouth Laser, and Eagle Talon Forum: DSMtalk.com

: Ecu


89142
11-24-2010, 07:21 PM
Got a quick question for everyone I have a 1995 and a 1998 GS-T. My 95 has the eprom type ecu and my 98 does not. I want dsmlink can I Just swap the ecus from one car to they other. I wanna use the DSMlink in my 98 so I just wanna swap them if possible. As of right now my 95 is just gonna be a daily driver. Only upgrades are gonna be FMIC, all hard piping, blow off valve and a MBC. Other than that stock will it be ok to put the 98 ecu in the 95 and it still run ok.

motozachl
11-25-2010, 10:06 AM
Yes you can swap them and run dsmlink on the '95 ecu. Once you get a handle on the link grab some 1000cc, pump, and bigger turbo :D

89142
11-25-2010, 10:53 AM
Yes you can swap them and run dsmlink on the '95 ecu. Once you get a handle on the link grab some 1000cc, pump, and bigger turbo :D

Well I Have 1000cc injectors and a 255lp fuel pump and a ported 16g. Was just needing to know more than anything if the 95 will run off the 98 ecu. I know the 98 will run off the 95 ecu. But my 98 has the plastic type ecu I know you can do stuff with it but I want DSMlink.:P

SavvyTSI
11-25-2010, 09:55 PM
Yes you can swap them. Everything from 95-99 are the same (granted they have to be a turbo model). What version of link are you going to use?

motozachl
11-25-2010, 11:27 PM
Well I Have 1000cc injectors and a 255lp fuel pump and a ported 16g. Was just needing to know more than anything if the 95 will run off the 98 ecu. I know the 98 will run off the 95 ecu. But my 98 has the plastic type ecu I know you can do stuff with it but I want DSMlink.:P

Good deal....do it up :cool:

Racah15
11-25-2010, 11:35 PM
No I believe you have to either re-arrange the sparkplug wires, or switch the CAS signal.
I had to do it when I ran a 97 ecu in a 95. It won't start just by plugging it in, but it will run perfect with it, but you gotta do that, switch the wires (not sure which order off the top of my head) or invert the signal.
What I ended up doing (the 95 had COPs) is we took the 2 power wires and switched them. That easy

89142
11-26-2010, 03:05 PM
Thanks everyone I am still wanting to know what DSMlink is better for the money full or the v3lite.

8ursrt4
11-27-2010, 11:53 PM
for beginners just get lite. You can always upgrade to the full version later. As far as the ecu's try swapping em out. if you get misfires or it runs rough you may have to swap the wires around a little.

89142
11-28-2010, 06:49 PM
If I buy lite can u just upgrade or do u have the buy the whole thing again.

8ursrt4
11-28-2010, 11:01 PM
you just upgrade the difference of between the 2 so probably 200 or so.

8ursrt4
11-28-2010, 11:03 PM
just looked. Its only 125 to upgrade

http://www.ecmtuning.com/product_info.php?cPath=25&products_id=55&osCsid=jucdd6gvp5dhmvr0fvheahm4j4

Bo0sTeD 4G63
12-01-2010, 08:39 AM
You can swap out the 95 ECU with the 98 ECU and it will work fine. Now with the dsm link I am using a V3 Lite. I heard it does alot of the things you will need to do with the car. I would go with the V3 Lite unless you are really going to use all the features that the full version brings. But you can always upgrade to the full version for an extra $125.