What kind of gauges? [Archive] - DSM Forums: Mitsubishi Eclipse, Plymouth Laser, and Eagle Talon Forum: DSMtalk.com

: What kind of gauges?

Ferhat007
11-16-2002, 08:24 PM
Hi guys i need some gauges for my 95 gsx..what are the most important once i need....fuel,boost,turbo? or what thanks

harry99GSX
11-16-2002, 08:34 PM
Boost,EGT,Fuel press. are nice and you can put these 3 gauges in triple pillar replacement. Oil pressure and water temp. are also nice gauges to have. It depends on how much you really want to spend.

Ferhat007
11-16-2002, 11:51 PM
EGT ???? what the heck is that im sorry im new to this stuff thanks

1994eclipse
11-17-2002, 12:22 AM
what are your mods? it depends what you have on your car..but probably:

boost is a must, fuel pressure if you have aftermarket fuel parts, egt (exhaust gas temperature) to help tune and let you know if you're running too lean (w/egt gauge you'll need a pyrometer and tap it into your exhaust manifold).
that's all you really need

Blackboost
11-17-2002, 07:29 AM
Moved to Newbies Forum...

AWD Terror
11-17-2002, 08:13 AM
Originally posted by Ferhat007
EGT ???? what the heck is that im sorry im new to this stuff thanks

This website will answer many of your questions. :)

http://members.shaw.ca/costall/1000Q/answers-gauges.htm#whatisanEGTgauge

greenstreak
11-17-2002, 08:29 AM
Bare bones minimum I would suggest a boost guage (-30/+30) and an EGT guage. Stay away from air/fuel guages which seems to be the first guage a newb wants to buy.

Blackboost
11-17-2002, 10:04 AM
Originally posted by greenstreak
Stay away from air/fuel guages which seems to be the first guage a newb wants to buy.

Agree...
The Light Show (A/F) gauge is a BIG POS...
It's only purpose is to let you know if your O2 sensor is still alive...

Ferhat007
11-17-2002, 10:56 AM