New to DSM [Archive] - DSM Forums: Mitsubishi Eclipse, Plymouth Laser, and Eagle Talon Forum: DSMtalk.com

: New to DSM

YAREMASI
12-11-2002, 10:51 AM
I am new to DSM and turbo cars. I just got a 99 spyder GST. I need some help as to where to start. I would like to run low 13's to high 12's. Please help.

autoxr37
12-11-2002, 11:02 AM
Well, lucky for you there is lots of info out there about this. For instance, the latest issue of Sports Compact Car has a nice 10pg or so tuning guide for the 4G63. Also, you can check out this page on RR engineering's website. Walks you through a 2g upgrade path.

http://www.roadraceengineering.com/2gupgradepath.htm

Backfired
12-11-2002, 11:10 AM
Everyone you ask will tell you the same starting mods such as:
-free mods (search)
-filter
-boost guage and controller
-DP and cat-back, etc..

Getting into 12's will be no simple task, but anything can happen with our motors:D After the basics, go for a new turbo. The T-25 didnt even hit puberty yet. Your car will get some balls with a bigger turbo.

autoxr37
12-11-2002, 11:23 AM
Originally posted by Backfired
Getting into 12's will be no simple task

It sure isn't. You've got your work cut out for you. In an AWD DSM it takes a good amount of work. In a FWD you need more power and need to be a hell of a driver. Good luck:) . I'm with you on your quest though, as my GS-T is about a month old and i'm already dying to get into the 13's. Too bad I have to wait 5 more months to try. Stupid snow...:(

YAREMASI
12-11-2002, 12:24 PM
Thanks for the info. It just seems like everyone I talk to tells me a different path.

Apocalypse
12-11-2002, 01:35 PM
Thats cause there are many paths that lead to the same place, and all are different young Skywalker. Wanna know the shortest path? Go buy a 12 second eclipse. Other than that, it all comes down to your wallet....

AWD Terror
12-11-2002, 03:26 PM
Visit these helpful websites-
http://2g.dsm.org
http://1000q.dsm.org
http://www.vfaq.com