DSMTalk Forums: Mitsubishi Eclipse, Plymouth Laser, and Eagle Talon Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.

New to DSM

22K views 67 replies 57 participants last post by  HOT97ECLIPSEGSX 
#1 ·
I am new to DSM and turbo cars. I just got a 99 spyder GST. I need some help as to where to start. I would like to run low 13's to high 12's. Please help.

#2 ·
Well, lucky for you there is lots of info out there about this. For instance, the latest issue of Sports Compact Car has a nice 10pg or so tuning guide for the 4G63. Also, you can check out this page on RR engineering's website. Walks you through a 2g upgrade path.

http://www.roadraceengineering.com/2gupgradepath.htm

#3 ·
Everyone you ask will tell you the same starting mods such as:
-free mods (search)
-filter
-boost guage and controller
-DP and cat-back, etc..

Getting into 12's will be no simple task, but anything can happen with our motors:D After the basics, go for a new turbo. The T-25 didnt even hit puberty yet. Your car will get some balls with a bigger turbo.

#4 ·
Backfired said:
Getting into 12's will be no simple task
It sure isn't. You've got your work cut out for you. In an AWD DSM it takes a good amount of work. In a FWD you need more power and need to be a hell of a driver. Good luck:) . I'm with you on your quest though, as my GS-T is about a month old and i'm already dying to get into the 13's. Too bad I have to wait 5 more months to try. Stupid snow...:(

#10 ·
Also in your boat...

I also own a 2G GS-T, and I'm also pretty new at this. Here's a few things I've found thus far:

- Keep in mind that the serious mods make your car illegal, usually in an emissions sense. I don't know how you feel about it, but it may be something to consider. Try a search of 'emissions', 'legal', etc. There's a lot of info here.