DSMTalk Forums: Mitsubishi Eclipse, Plymouth Laser, and Eagle Talon Forum banner

Delayed/hard shift into drive

7K views 21 replies 6 participants last post by  91Bluebird 
#1 ·
Car: 1993 Eclipse GS

When shifting from park to Drive (N to drive) it takes like 3 seconds or so and then it goes into drive hard. Is that normal for these cars or could something be up?
Goes into reverse fine

#12 · (Edited)
i got a spare IAC, could swap it out and see what happens (actaully have a near complete low mileage 4g63T setup) but change my mind on doin the swap so its all gettin sold. I just got this car (and a galant) about 2 weeks ago.

Im actually pretty new to the whole FWD import OHeverything scene. im more of the V8 sub mid 70s stuff. Did have an RX7 vert i traded for the above cars

Its got a pretty bad case of lifter tick as well, i heard swappin in 3g lifter will cure it?

#13 ·
Won't hurt to flush out that port while you've got the old AIC out.

As far as the lifters, I dunno, I'm brand new to this engine....but I know a treatment of Rislone hushes up the 3.0's, and they tick just because.

Billy

#14 ·
Went out and took it for a ride and checked the trans fluid, Levels good just a touch below that top check hot line and there was a few little bubble in it. Still alot of vibration in gear (R and D)

what would it take/cost to change the trans fluid and filter in it if i took it in to a shop? IM in MN and its cold out otherwise id do it myself

#17 ·
Cold Dark Shado said:
how many quarts does it need?
should i just drain the pan dry and fill it back up with new stuff or is there more to it?

never dove into trannies before outside of checking the fluid lol