DSMTalk Forums: Mitsubishi Eclipse, Plymouth Laser, and Eagle Talon Forum banner

Help designing coil on plug

8K views 19 replies 13 participants last post by  iwantawd 
#1 ·
I am new to the dsm world. I have had my talon for a few months. I do know the 4g63 potential, as a friend of mine/coworker has a dodge colt fwd with a 4g63/auto and has run a best of 9.63 at 14x mph its a sweet car but anyways..
I just saw the buschur cop system. I think it looks awesome, with no plug wires to mess with, and it is suppose to help with spark as I understand. I would love this setup on my car, but for now, i am poor. Now I work at a linc/merc dealership and I have access to fords version of coil on plug. Namely, the set used on the 4.6 dohc in cobras and linc mark 7
The question is, can I use these coils? Is there a reason why the 300 coil is so much better. What issues is there installing these. I know i am walking into new territory, but it seems that it can be done.
I would have to build an adapter plate to mount them, wire them in, as i understand the stock pcm can control them when wired in, I would like to go to dsmlink or a stand alone in the future, when money is more available.
I thank anyone for their opinion and or help in this area
Don

#2 ·
I am wondering if you're getting ahead of yourself. COP ignition is one of the later things to do in a standard upgrade path. The stock dsm ignition is very stout and has taken people very far. I have heard 500 whp; some even say 600 whp.

If you do really need COP then I can't help you much, as I haven't gotten close enough to that level to even think about it.

#3 ·
I am

I am, sort of... I know that it is not a requirement or anything, I just can get the coils (for free) and want my car to be special. My friend has i think rx7 coils and wires on his car.. I just don't like the wires, plus, I think i am going to need new wires soon anyway... I figure, its free, its an upgrade, why not.