DSMTalk Forums: Mitsubishi Eclipse, Plymouth Laser, and Eagle Talon Forum banner

03 Evo Problems

9K views 37 replies 19 participants last post by  MacGSX 
#1 ·
Ok well my best friend has an 03 evo and doesn't understand the concept of internet forums so I'm posting here to get some help. We've been trying to figure out whats wrong with his has for the past week and can't

It all started at englishtown at the showdown. He launched hard separating the boot from the cv axle. So we replaced the axle thinking everything is good.

Now the Problem: When the car is turned hard right or left it sounds like something is hanging up and making a clunk sound. It first started only doing it while turning and is now starting to do it when driving straight from a dead stop. We've checked the front cv axles, the ball joint, the drive shaft has no play, nothing is actually catching on anything. I'm completely lost, I told him it may be something in the trans but I have never worked on an EVO before so that was a shot in the dark.

Anyone?

#2 ·
Raise the front of the car and turn the front wheel, one wheel should turn the opposite direction of the other when you do so. It it doesnt turn or turns the same direction, something is wrong, likely the diff. ( This is going off foggy memory ).

#6 ·
Does it feel like a slipping clutch? Or what about like a front axel pops out and you loose power to the front wheels. (Give it gas and speedometer goes up then goes back down to catch)

#10 ·
See if the intermediate shaft was damaged.

(goes through the trans on the drivers side.)

I'm betting you have some T/C problems, or he damaged the intermediate shaft.

Dump the fluid in the T/C and see how much broken metal falls out with it.

#15 ·