How to change a brake light switch - DSM Forums: Mitsubishi Eclipse, Plymouth Laser, and Eagle Talon Forum: DSMtalk.com
 
HomeForumGalleryClassifiedsAbout UsAdvertiseContact Us

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   DSM Forums: Mitsubishi Eclipse, Plymouth Laser, and Eagle Talon Forum: DSMtalk.com > New User Reading Area > Newbies Forum

DSMTalk.com is the premier Mitsubishi Eclipse Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-06-2010, 12:59 PM   #1
95tsi915
New DSMtalker
 
95tsi915's Avatar
 
95 TSI
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: El Paso, Tx
Posts: 11
95tsi915's Gallery
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
How to change a brake light switch

Bought my new one.
I just need some help on putting it in
95tsi915 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-06-2010, 01:14 PM   #2
GTAhot92
Ultra DSMtalker
 
GTAhot92's Avatar
 
94 Laser
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Albuquerque NM
Posts: 1,067
GTAhot92's Gallery
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Re: How to change a brake light switch

On other vehicles they twist in, maybe a set of pliers? I also had one the just clicked into place. If you have cruise control there may be 2 switches in the same area, the cruise will also have a vacuum line.
__________________
1994 Laser 4G37 Turbo - Tricksy
1980 Turbo T/A - Stasia
1992 GTA 5th Anniv. - Jasmine
1976 455 T/A - Revenge
1984 Maserati Biturbo 2.5TT - Giovanna
1989 Silverado - Shooter
GTAhot92 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2010, 02:09 PM   #3
95tsi915
New DSMtalker
 
95tsi915's Avatar
 
95 TSI
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: El Paso, Tx
Posts: 11
95tsi915's Gallery
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Re: How to change a brake light switch

Quote:
Originally Posted by GTAhot92 View Post
On other vehicles they twist in, maybe a set of pliers? I also had one the just clicked into place. If you have cruise control there may be 2 switches in the same area, the cruise will also have a vacuum line.
Went down there to try and change it and I honestly have no clue how.
I was messing with it and now my brake lights are stuck on
95tsi915 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2010, 02:48 PM   #4
Gray91GSX
Hardcore DSMtalker
 
Gray91GSX's Avatar
 
1998 Eclipse Spyder
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Oakboro, NC
Posts: 951
Gray91GSX's Gallery
Feedback Score: 6 reviews
Re: How to change a brake light switch

So apparently it was good and the thing you was messing with is probably the adjustment nut. If you take that nut completely off then the sensor should come off the brake pedal.
__________________
91 GSX- Shell sold to Cory
93 Laser- Got from Cory
96 Spyder- Traded the $1 Laser for it
98 Spyder- Traded Prelude and Cavalier for
Gray91GSX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2010, 02:57 PM   #5
95tsi915
New DSMtalker
 
95tsi915's Avatar
 
95 TSI
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: El Paso, Tx
Posts: 11
95tsi915's Gallery
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Re: How to change a brake light switch

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gray91GSX View Post
So apparently it was good and the thing you was messing with is probably the adjustment nut. If you take that nut completely off then the sensor should come off the brake pedal.
It's fine but when my lights are on my third brake light stays on and when the lights Are off they all work
95tsi915 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2010, 03:28 PM   #6
95tsi915
New DSMtalker
 
95tsi915's Avatar
 
95 TSI
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: El Paso, Tx
Posts: 11
95tsi915's Gallery
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Re: How to change a brake light switch

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gray91GSX View Post
So apparently it was good and the thing you was messing with is probably the adjustment nut. If you take that nut completely off then the sensor should come off the brake pedal.
Went and looked under there again and I noticed there was an empty plug.
It looked like it would fit the brake light switch I bought so I tried it out and it did fit.



But the plug sits no where its just hanging there.
So I unplugged the other one and messed with the button on the switch I bought and it turned the brake lights on and off.
Im really getting confused now.



Heres the one thats plugged in
95tsi915 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2010, 05:54 PM   #7
95tsi915
New DSMtalker
 
95tsi915's Avatar
 
95 TSI
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: El Paso, Tx
Posts: 11
95tsi915's Gallery
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Re: How to change a brake light switch

Quote:
Originally Posted by 95tsi915 View Post
It's fine but when my lights are on my third brake light stays on and when the lights Are off they all work
Guess it's not the switch.
I checked out the wiring more and it's all fucked up.
95tsi915 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:24 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© AutoGuide