DSMTalk Forums: Mitsubishi Eclipse, Plymouth Laser, and Eagle Talon Forum banner

1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
46 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok, I am a mechanical CAD Engineer by trade, and working sales right now for lack of work in my field. So to keep me up on my skills untill I find work, I am doing a 4G63 engine in 3D model space. Below is a shot of the valve cover that I have done so far. If anyone has any specs on engine componants, please let me know!!! I have some extra parts that I can measure as I put in, but I don't have a whole complete engine. If amyone has the parts, and is willing to measure them and send me the measurements, it would greatly help me out. You can send them direct to my email at : [email protected]

Also, If anyone wants any pics of any parts (or the whole engine when I get it done), just let me know. I can render in any color, any material, at any angle, etc.

Thanks, Nate

·
Registered
46 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Yea, Solidworks just plain KICKS ASS! I'll post one of black and silver in a minut. I just finished the piston and cam cap too, and will post them as well

·
Registered
46 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Here you go!

Really looking for someone with an extra block laying around that they can measure for me. I will be starting the head next, but will take me some time.

·
Premium Member
2,474 Posts
I've been trying to teach myself solidworks, but the questionably legitimate version I have is a little buggy. Anybody want to hook a brother up? PM me plz

·
Registered
46 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
go to their website and download the 3 month student version of Solodworks 2010 for free. That's what I'm using now untill it's up, then I have a copy of 2009 I can put on my computer. I'll tell you this, if you are used to AutoCAD, Solidworks is a whole new animal!

·
Registered
327 Posts
Very impressive work! Sorry I have no DSM parts lying around :(

How long did that valve cover take to make?

·
Premium Member
2,474 Posts