DSMTalk Forums: Mitsubishi Eclipse, Plymouth Laser, and Eagle Talon Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok sorry if i sound like an idiot but im new to DSM's......Ok i wanted to swap my blown 97 Gs-T's engine its a 4G63...The thing is people are telling me to get a 1st gen engine and swap that in...exactly what is the difference in the 2 engines....HP, displacement, what type of turbo.........thanx

·
Registered
111 Posts
the 90 and 91 engines are called 6 bolt engines. their cranckshafts have 6 bolts. Afeter 92 they came with 7 bolts.
However the 6 bolt engines are thought to be stronger. The 7 bolts specially the engines on the 2G's are known to get cranckwalk. which is lateral movement of the cranckshaft.
this is not always but a good chunk get infected with the disease

beside that the engines are very close.
The 1G turbos 90-94 are bigger however 2G engines come with higher compression pistons.

See what you can find and do a search
swap of an older engine involves some wiring change which is SIMPLE though. search for MGNUS MOTOR SPORT which does that and have a good explanation on their site

Amin

·
Registered
17 Posts
THere is a little more to it

Well where should I start? I just finished with my conversion into my 95 GSX with an AT. Let me start by saying that anyone that has an AT would be better off just selling the car completely or putting a 7 bolt in because you might get the engine in, but guess what...it won't hook up to the tranny! Neat huh. Anyway, if you do have a manual, then it is merely a matter of mixing and matching the proper timing belt parts to make the happiness happen. Its all documented on RRE and Magnus so check it out and good luck. Hope you don't have an AT...:confused:

·
Registered
17 Posts
HP differences