DSMTalk Forums: Mitsubishi Eclipse, Plymouth Laser, and Eagle Talon Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
0 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been scouring the classifieds for a few months now, still looking for a pristine 98-99 2G GS-T/GSX/TSi (98), to very little luck. But after reading through a lot of the old CW posts, I'm sort of having second thoughts about looking for a *new* car and just being happy with what I've got. I'm not in a money crunch, but I'm not ready to plunk down $5K for a 6 bolt motor swap if the existing 7 bolt shits the bed. Is having a 2G (or a late model 1G DSM) like driving with a live grenade? Is crankwalk just an unpredictable happening? It seems like it doesn't matter if you're running basic mods with some bolt-on parts here and there, or if you've got a big 16G hooked up; crankwalk can happen at ANY time, ANY mileage, with ANY given mods...

Are there any TRIED and TRUE preventative things to do/things that owners with high mileage 7 bolts have done, such as adding 3rd gen lifters(?), de-activating the clutch down startup, switching to synthetic motor oil, changing oil at 2K-2.5K miles, driving (for the most part) pretty conservatively, checking spec(?)/crank play(?) while the cars on a lift, etc etc.? I've checked out VFaq, great articles and How-To's, but theres so many different CRANKWALK THIS and CRANKWALK THAT "mis"-information that I may have read that I really just don't get...

Let's say I find myself a late model 2G, let's say for shits and giggles its a GS-T driven by an old lady, with no modifications, oil changes at every 3500 miles, 100K miles. If I were to take this to a mechanic friend, have him throw it up on the lift, and tell him to "check for play in the crank", assuming he correctly can *diagnose/check* the crankshaft(?), and says theres 0" play(?), am I home free? Before making any sort of offer, I'd take it to a mechanic anyway for a compression test to check things out.