DSMTalk Forums: Mitsubishi Eclipse, Plymouth Laser, and Eagle Talon Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, I am completely new to dsm.

I found a 91 eclipse fwd non turbo automatic 2.0 l dohc.

The car had been sitting for maybe a year with a bad tranny.

The car seems to be whole and in good shape. It does not appear to have been tampered with in any way.

After some new gas and oil the car started ran ok then died about 2 minutes later.

Now you can start the car by pumping the pedal and as long as the key is still in the start position you can even rev it up but as soon as you release the key it dies.

The problem seems to be getting progressivly worse as it becomes harder and harder to start.

I am thinking maybe the cat is clogged?

Do any of you have suggestions or know of a similar problem before I start ripping pieces off?

Thanks in advance

·
Honorary Moderator
3,499 Posts
Maybe I'm not following you post properly, but I'll try to help. When the key is in the "start" position the starter is engaging the flywheel and turning it and the engine's rotating assembly. This is building compression in the cylinders which is necessary to start an internal combustion engine. If the engine is running when you're doing that, you're destroying the starters and the teeth on the flywheel. I'd suggest you don't hold the key in the start position. :)
There's a few things that generally keep a car from starting. Start with the basics. Make sure you're getting fuel to the fuel rail. Make sure you're getting spark. Check the ECU to make sure the caps haven't leaked. We get several posts a week with starting problems, so try a search for "car wont' start" or something along those lines. Every answer you need should pop up.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·