DSMTalk Forums: Mitsubishi Eclipse, Plymouth Laser, and Eagle Talon Forum banner
1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Car is a 92 Talon TSI AWD.

Problem: About half of the time when I step on my clutch to let the car coast my RPM will drop so far that either the car shutters and revs back up to my 850 RPM idle or it will just shut off.

I have a new clutch, master and slave cylinders, all new vacuum lines new throttle body, new stepper motor all on the car trying to solve this problem and nothing so far.

Any ideas?

Thanks,

Gary

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
93_GSX said:
FIAV? TPS? There are a few sensors that effect idle. Run a search, you'll find some threads...
FIAV has been swapped and TPS was changed about a year ago so I am assuming it is still good.

I did more searching like you suggested and found a similar case where it was either the reed switch or speed sensor. I got a little confused as to which one it actually was in the post.

Does anyone know if these can be replaced on their own and where to get them? I tried calling my local dealership and they have no idea what I am talking about.

Thanks again,

Gary

·
Registered
632 Posts
Recirculate the BOV or make sure it is completely sealed if it is. Thats a classic symptom of un-recirc'd BOV.

·
Registered
661 Posts
Check the plug for the CAS over time the coating over the wires becomes hard and then crack off showing off the copper wires. Every time when the engine shake it would cut off all power.

That what happen in my case, And fiy if you ever go to the canyon with this problem you will be sh*ting bricks.

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
Stock BOV recirculated. Could it be an issue with the BOV being bad?

It is the fidanza lightened flywheel but I had this problem before I put that on.

This shoul dprobably be a new post in the newbie part but what is the "CAS"?

Thanks for the help.

·
Registered
2,420 Posts
70newport said: