DSMTalk Forums: Mitsubishi Eclipse, Plymouth Laser, and Eagle Talon Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a 95 GS auto, and this problem has popped up due to the cold temperatures lately. When I turn on my heat, it will usually take about 10 min sitting still at idle untill the engine warms up enough to produce warm air through the heating ducts. But as soon as I start driving (about 2 min later) of non-stop/go traffic, the engine temp meter drops back down to its lowest point and the heating air becomes anything but warm. My first inclinations are that the thermostat housing may be stuck open, but would like the opionion of others before I go and do anything. I am a poor college student and do not want to have it serviced. I have much experience with Honda's, but not much on the 420a. Thanks for the help.

-Andy

http://www.public.iastate.edu/~ajross/crx.htm

·
Registered
4 Posts
I believe that your T-stat is stuck open, Go to auto zone, buy the G2 - 195 T-stat with a new gasket, that should fix the problem.. if not post again & let me tell you a second problem it might be.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks

Just for future reference, where approximately is the t-stat located on the block? And any specific size socket? Thanks for the quick help.

·
Registered
612 Posts
Just follow your upper radiator hose (the one on the leftof your radiator) to your engine block, there is a fitting there w/ 2 bolts (I believe 12 mm(?)) you want to
- drain about 1 gal of your coolant in a clean bucket (to put back in later)
-take the radiator hose off
-remove bolts from the thermostat housing
-scrape the old gasket off the housing
-put new therm. and gasket in tighten bolts to (I think) 18 ft/lbs
-replace radiator hose
-replace coolant
test drive :D

Hope that helps.
-Aaron

·
Registered
1,618 Posts