DSMTalk Forums: Mitsubishi Eclipse, Plymouth Laser, and Eagle Talon Forum banner
1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
'99 Spyder GST
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
On a 2g Spyder GST, the headlights are not as bright as I would like. So I was thinking of the upgrade / modernization path. My options seem to be (1) replacing the fixtures, (2) polishing the lens cover, and (3) replacing the bulbs with brighter halogens or upgrading to LED or HID. First, while I am certainly familiar with tools, fixed my lawn equipment, built computers and the like, I am no mechanic. I am patient, however. My '99 was with my parents for a decade and I just reclaimed it. I didn't have any money (or time) to play with it, but now I do... As for ideas, I will gladly pay more for simple over complicated and time consuming. My impression of the options:

(1) new light fixtures - adds halo, led, costs about $250-300, should be bright. Will have to take off bumper and some wiring. Likely NOT plug and play with wiring. Instructions seem to be terrible. But lights look really cool. Not sure of the brands as I cannot tell if some are junk or not.
(2) polish surface lens - cost about $20, should make lens clear and remove yellow. May last a year or so. Easy to do.
(3) change bulbs to LED or HID - Surprisingly expense. Will be 2 highs and 2 lows which run about $100 to $120 a pair ($200 to $240), not including red parking lights. It should be easy to replace the bulbs. Not sure which ones, though, as they are not all equal. May have an issue with wiring/cooling, but likely still plug and play.
(4) changing bulbs with halogen bulbs - posts mention SilverStar Ultras at $50 a pair. Replacing with halogens seems like the right idea. Probably the easiest.