DSMTalk Forums: Mitsubishi Eclipse, Plymouth Laser, and Eagle Talon Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Honorary Moderator
1,600 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've got a couple Boston Acoustic 6x9 for the back. I took out the seats and the panels in the back and pulled out the stock 6x9s. Everything went as planned till I went to put the new ones in... the magnet was too big and was hitting the wheel well and stuff before the screw holes were in position. I ahve a spacer that allows me to set it at the right height so that it won't hit the well but then the panel won't go back on right? I was going to cut the panel to have the speaker stick through but then someone told me I should just bash in the wheel well. I'm new to this so does anyone have any advice on which approach I should take?

------------------
Quadcylla
92 Laser RS-T FWD

·
Elite DSMtalker
1,923 Posts
Try modifying the stock speaker grills in the back if they do hit the speakers. Mostly the stock speakers are back pretty far back from the grill. (like a inch or so) But if it actualy hits anytime playing or not, Just go to a good local stereo shop or hardware store(witch is a better bet) and get the grill that they use to cover speakers and remove the stock grill and make your own a little taller. If the speaker grill has to be more then a 1/4 to 1/2 inch taller then stock. I would modify the whole side panel in the back to give you the most room. Like always though getting something bigger then normal into a normal size whole will require modificatiom. And the best thing to remember before cutting ($expensive$) stock parts make sure you know what you are doing and your are comfortable(sp?) with the risk you are taking. Also if you modify the wheel well that a bashing you do to get more room on the inside will reduce the room on the outside. Finaly if the speakers mounting depth is greater then 4 inches 4.5 maximum then it won't fit without MAJOR modification.

·
Registered
5,220 Posts