DSMTalk Forums: Mitsubishi Eclipse, Plymouth Laser, and Eagle Talon Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey Guys, I am new to DSM land, I recently got a 90 tsi awd, and its slightly modded, but when I brought it to the track to run it for the first time. I had a really hard time getting into second gear. REALLY bad. even when taking a VERY long time switching from 1 to 2, it grinds really bad. I am guessing that the 2nd gear synchro is beat up badly. and whatever else along with it is shot as well. what I am really wondering is would I be better off rebuilding my trans, or looking for a 94 awd trans? and if I do switch to a 94 trans, is it a direct swap or do I need other things along with it?

please excuse my ignorance :)

Pat

------------------
99.5 VW jetta VR6
90 talon awd

·
Registered
91 Posts
mine does the exact same thing. all i do is pull back directly till you feel a pause then it kinda "eases" itself in and it doesn grind, if i take rpms up alot and shift normal it usu doesnt grind. it also helps by just using your index and middle finger to bring it back, just cuz you wont pull back as hard. just stuff i learned about my car. my synchro is prolly shot too goin from 1-2

------------------
Brian
91 TSi

·
Registered
1,901 Posts
Everything is the same, except the shifter. 91-94 use a diffrent shifter, and if you use a 90 shifter with a 91+ tranny, it won't shift too well, and might do tranny damage.

------------------
1992 Eagle Talon TSI
13.8 @ 105.3 mph AT
Being Converted to 5-spd

·
Registered
333 Posts
your transfer case wont match up either. more then likely your 90 is a 22sline and the 94 is a 23 spline.

·
Registered
739 Posts
VWJetta, have you replace the shifter assm's rubber gomets with steel washers yet? how about the pivot points of the linkage arms on the trany, are they worn too(lot of play)?
Try these first before replacing the trany.
My .02

-Kevin.

------------------