DSMTalk Forums: Mitsubishi Eclipse, Plymouth Laser, and Eagle Talon Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
246 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well, I've had the bushings for awhile now. I finally decided to install them when I had my interior torn apart to install an amp under the passenger seat.

Taking apart the console is a bit of a chore since I've never done it before. Be careful you don't rip out any wires. I had wires running to the lighter, as well as the ashtray. You may have more... Anyway, install was straightforward. Pull the console, remove the 4 bolts holding the shifter plate to the floor, remove the old bushings (mine felt like silly putty). Once you have the bushings removed, take the metal sleeve out of it. Put the metal sleeve in the new bushings, and reassembly. The instructions that came with the bushings are a bit better.

It improved the feel of the shifter a good deal. I won't lie and say it was miraculous, but it made a nice improvement. There is almost no slop in the movememt of the gear shift, and when you place it in to gear, or slam it into gear for that matter, you get a nice solid feel.

In all, it was a well spent $10. RRE shipped it well and didn't mess anything up

·
Registered
81 Posts
rre shifter bushings