DSMTalk Forums: Mitsubishi Eclipse, Plymouth Laser, and Eagle Talon Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My taillight fuse (15A) keeps getting blown whenever I try to install a pair of LED side markers (it's a 4LED bulb, rated at 12V). Interestingly enough, when I switch to my old ones (PIAA Extreme Whites), they work fine. Is this because the new light bulbs is drawing too much current? If so, is there anyone I can make this work (tap them into another source?). Is it safe to put a higher rated fuse (say, 30A) into the 15A fuse slot? I'm a newbie to this whole electrical thing so if you guys could provide some guidance (worded for a noob), that'd be great :) Thanks!

·
Registered
1,056 Posts
Try upgrading the fuse. It is possible to put a higher rated fuse in a 15A slot. Just don't upgrade it too much...it might cause a short or a fire. Go with 20 first, then 25...if that doesn't work, try other avenues...I don't know that I'd go with 30 in a 15. I've used 30's in 20's and 25's but never 15's.

Someone more experienced in this might know more.

·
Registered
29 Posts
One word - relays. Whenever you use a higher (volted, amped, etc) draw on a circuit, use a relay. What it does is allow you to use a higher draw on a circuit without risk of blowing the circuit. I can't really explain how a relay works so you'd understand it, or how to wire it correctly for your application. But, I'm pretty sure that's your solution. Relays can be found at the shack for under $5, and have usually four prongs. Ground, constant on, switched on and one other. My brain is fuzzy from my Jeep days (lots of relays).

Good luck.

·
Registered
29 Posts
Ok, think I figured it out so you can DIY.

This is basically how it's going to work:
Required:
One (1) four-prong relay from the Shack
Some spare wire
Inline fuse holder and fuse
blade wire connectors (male?)