DSMTalk Forums: Mitsubishi Eclipse, Plymouth Laser, and Eagle Talon Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Banned
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
hey, i bought i 94 eagle talon about three months ago and i am still learning about the dsm world. a few days ago while i was pulling onto the interstate i was shifting into 4th gear and accidentally went into 2nd and over reved the car. there is a pretty good knock now and im getting it fixed. while were in the engine i wanted to replace the pistons and rods but wasn't sure on what to put in.... any suggestions?

the car has a small 16g turbo with a supra side mount. coil unplug, 680 injectors, 190 fuel pump evo 3 intake..... it is the 6 bolt engine

·
Registered
605 Posts
2g pistons on 1g rods is a fairly stout and cheap combo.
You can also get aftermarket rods such as Eagle and slap on some Ross or Wiseco pistons.

·
Registered
166 Posts
Do you have any plans of going with a bigger turbo and if yes, how big? If your immediate plans are not over 400hp then in all honesty your current pistons are fine unless due to that overrev some valve heads were broken off and have destroyed the piston(s). That happens but quite rarely.

So, in case if you are not going over those magic 400 ponies, your course of action should be something like the following:)